Crisis Chronicle - Logistics in the face of re-confinement #2

The storage market is adapting and reshaping itself

-

Each week, during the whole containment period, SpaceFill will draw up an inventory of the logistics market in France. Detailed statistics, impact by region, availability of the storage network, testimonials of professionals: SpaceFill will make you live the evolution of the logistics activity on the front line, alongside our partners.

Crisis Chronicle #2 - The response of the metropolises


This week, we present the continuation of our survey of our 3,000 partners. We conducted a regionalized analysis of the impact of containment on logistics activity in France. It sheds light on a storage market that is in the midst of being restructured.

The possibilities of a second wave in winter were very much in the forefront of discussions as soon as the first containment was lifted. The government's announcement was therefore not a great shock and the effects of confinement on logistics are much less spectacular. Indeed, logistics professionals had several months to prepare for the re-containment. However, if we look more closely, the storage market is in a real state of turmoil. SpaceFill's statistical analysis department shares its first conclusions with you.


The impact of re-confinement on French territory

First observation: large cities were the hardest hit by the announcement of the containment

As we saw last week, re-confinement affects logistics service providers in a heterogeneous way depending on their specialisations. Regionalizing the responses allows us to better understand the impact of government measures on the logistics market in France.

7 days after the start of containment, the findings are irrefutable with our logistics partners. Those close to major metropolises have been the hardest hit by the contraction of activity.

In the map below, we can see that Normandy and the most populated regions are those most affected by containment. Going further, we can see that it is mainly warehouses near major cities (Paris, Lyon and Marseille in particular) that have been the most impacted by containment (more than 81% of the partners negatively impacted).


Map of the impact of containment on the activity of logistics partners (at D+7 after the announcement of re-containment). ‍

Last week, urban logistics areas were the most affected by government announcements


Whether it is for projects that are on hold or for companies that want to repatriate stocks in the face of closing sales outlets, cities and their surroundings are more affected than others by containment. Indeed, in the latter, retail and non-essential stores are more concentrated and rely on a vast storage infrastructure on the outskirts of urban centres.

In addition, the opposite effect also exists. Many production regions (such as Brittany or Aquitaine) have been positively impacted by containment from the moment it was announced. In fact, many shippers prefer to store close to their production sites for the time of re-confinement.

It seems, however, that the trend is being reversed, as the major cities have not said their last word!

D+14: a market in full boom of recomposition


At D+7, in our survey last week, re-confinement was mainly a cause of reduced activity for our logistics partners (52% of the partners surveyed).

But today, it seems that the market is no longer in decline
. 14 days after the start of the new sanitary protocol, we are witnessing a real explosion in demand from shippers, especially industrialists. For SpaceFill, this is extremely striking in the typology of the requests we receive (on a sample of more than 200 requests over the last 14 days).

The map of the requests received by SpaceFill in the last 14 days:

The demands for storage are numerous and are concentrated around metropolises.

Since the beginning of the re-confinement we have recorded twice as many storage requests compared to the seasonal average. These requests are generally three times higher in average pallet volume and are concentrated around cities.


"The storage market has been boiling since the start of containment. Some stocks are being emptied, others are being built up, and product typologies are changing. This is especially the case at our sites near major cities," explains one of our partners. If the cities and their outskirts were negatively impacted at the beginning of the crisis, they are now prized for the constitution of advanced stocks, especially for e-commerce. In addition, the rapid emergence of "click & collect" has enabled some stores to resume activity close to normal.



The Bullwhipeffect is affecting French supply chains


We are witnessing a real demonstration of the Bullwhip effect on the market. Indeed, the myriads of local adjustments we have highlighted lead to upstream and downstream adjustments themselves, often amplifying them. These adjustments are sometimes brutal, particularly in the food or health sector. "Recent discussions about the release of a vaccine have already started to weigh on the refrigeration market and future investments," says a partner specializing in this sector.

The health situation remains a major concern for logistics professionals. Uncertainty is the order of the day for both shippers and our partners. "Government announcements are still awaited as they have a direct impact on our business. Some stores are closing, others are allowed to open and our customers are passing this on to their storage capacities, sometimes excessively so" explains another of our partners in the Paris region.

Provide visibility in a market undergoing reorganization

In this context of recomposition of the storage market, SpaceFill plays a key role. It is a question here of combating the opacity which weighs on all the players.

First of all, we enable shippers to reshape their supply chains in the face of closures of sales outlets and changes in their activity. Our service is also an asset for warehouses whose unused space has increased. We enable them to make their customer portfolio profitable and diversify by meeting a real need, because while some industries are slowing down, others are speeding up!

SpaceFill platform provides real-time visibility into storage availability



Indeed, according to our figures of the last few weeks, the volume of requests for food products has been divided by 5, the demand for storage of furniture or beverages has been multiplied by 7 and 9 respectively.

In conclusion,
storage requirements remain relatively stable on the market as a whole. By helping to match supply and demand, SpaceFill helps to limit the impact of containment on supply chains.

Re-confinement under the sign of solidarity

This time, the actors were more prompt in setting up solidarity initiatives. Sometimes even competition gives way to a very unusual spirit of solidarity. Thus, we can see that large companies are multiplying projects to support independent traders and craftsmen, particularly by helping them to go digital.


For example, Monoprix offers local artisans the opportunity to display their products in its downtown stores. One florist even benefited from the click and collect sale at Monoprix Le Bouscat in Bordeaux.

Similarly, Intermarché has launched the Solidarity Drive, offering independent retailers the opportunity to sell their products on its application for 6 months.

More humorously, Burger King caused a sensation by calling on loyal customers to order from its competitor McDonald's in a sensational tweet .


On our scale, we want to help all companies with temporary storage needs related to containment to find a solution among our network of 3000 warehouses. We have temporarily reinforced the operational teams to deal with your requests as quickly as possible and provide you with a response, the same day if possible. To go further realize an application for storage on our site.

Every day thousands of pallets enter and leave the SpaceFill partner network.



If you did not have the opportunity to read last week's article, we invite you to read it by following this link. link.

Find space for your goods

SpaceFill brings you the best storage solution close to your needs thanks to its network of 3000 logistic warehouses.

Problem? Question?
Contact us directly

01 88 24 12 12
pasquier logo
plg logo
postage-paid logo
ruby logo

What is your storage requirement?

Thank you. We will contact you as soon as possible.
Oops! Thank you for filling out the form

Our resources

Discover how digital is transforming logistics

Find space for your goods

SpaceFill brings you the best storage solution close to your needs thanks to its network of 3000 logistic warehouses.

Problem? Question?
Contact us directly

01 88 24 12 12
pasquier logo
plg logo
postage-paid logo
ruby logo

What is your storage requirement?

Thank you. We will contact you as soon as possible.
Oops! Thank you for filling out the form

Chronique de crise - la logistique face au re-confinement #2

Le marché du stockage s'adapte et se recompose

-

Chaque semaine, pendant toute la durée du confinement, SpaceFill dressera un état des lieux du marché de la logistique en France. Statistiques détaillées, impact par région, disponibilités du réseau de stockage, témoignages de professionnels : SpaceFill vous fera vivre l’évolution de l’activité logistique en première ligne, aux côtés de nos partenaires.

Chronique de crise #2 - La riposte des métropoles


Cette semaine, nous vous présentons la suite de notre étude menée auprès de nos 3 000 partenaires. Nous avons réalisé une analyse régionalisée de l’impact du confinement sur l’activité logistique en France. Celle-ci nous éclaire sur un marché du stockage en pleine recomposition.

Les possibilités d’une seconde vague en hiver étaient bien présentes dans les discussions dès la levée du premier confinement. L’annonce du gouvernement n’a donc pas été un grand choc et les effets du confinement sur la logistique sont bien moins spectaculaires. En effet, les professionnels de la logistique ont eu plusieurs mois pour se préparer au re-confinement. Pourtant, si l’on regarde de plus près, le marché du stockage est en véritable ébullition. Le département d'analyses statistiques de SpaceFill vous partage ses premières conclusions.


L'impact du re-confinement sur le territoire Français

Premier constat : les grandes villes ont été les plus durement touchées par l’annonce du confinement

Comme nous l’avions vu la semaine dernière, le re-confinement touche les prestataires logistiques de manière hétérogène selon leurs spécialisations. Régionaliser les réponses nous permet de mieux comprendre l’impact des mesures gouvernementales sur le marché de la logistique en France.

7 jours après le début du confinement le constat est sans appel chez nos partenaires logistiques. Ceux qui se trouvent à proximité des grandes métropoles ont été les plus durement touchés par la contraction de l'activité.

Dans la carte ci-dessous, nous pouvons voir que la Normandie et les régions les plus peuplées sont celles les plus touchées par le confinement. En allant plus loin, on se rend compte que ce sont principalement les entrepôts à proximité des grandes villes (Paris, Lyon et Marseille en particulier) qui ont été le plus impactés par le confinement (plus de 81% des partenaires impactés négativement).


Carte de l'impact du confinement sur l'activité des partenaires logistiques (à J+7 après l'annonce du re-confinement).

La semaine dernière, les zones logistiques urbaines étaient les plus touchées par les annonces du gouvernement


Que ce soient pour des projets qui sont mis en pause ou des entreprises qui veulent rapatrier les stocks face à la fermeture de lieux de vente, les villes et leurs alentours sont plus touchées que les autres par le confinement. En effet, dans ces dernières les magasins de retail et de produits non-essentiels sont plus concentrés et se reposent sur une vaste infrastructure de stockage en périphérie des centres urbains.

Par ailleurs, l’effet inverse existe aussi. De nombreuses régions de production (comme la Bretagne ou l'Aquitaine) ont été impactées positivement par le confinement et cela dès son annonce. En effet, beaucoup de chargeurs préfèrent stocker à proximité de leurs lieux de production le temps du re-confinement.

Il semble pourtant que la tendance soit en train de s’inverser, les grandes villes n’ont pas dit leur dernier mot !

J+14 : un marché en plein boom de recomposition


À J+7, dans notre étude de la semaine dernière, le re-confinement était principalement cause de réduction d’activité pour nos partenaires logistiques (52% des partenaires interrogés).

Mais aujourd’hui, il semble que le marché ne soit plus à la baisse
. 14 jours après le début du nouveau protocole sanitaire, on assiste à une véritable explosion de la demande du côté des chargeurs, notamment des industriels. Pour SpaceFill, cela est extrêmement marquant dans la typologie des demandes que nous recevons (sur un échantillon de plus de 200 demandes sur les 14 derniers jours).

La carte des demandes reçues par SpaceFill dans les 14 derniers jours :

Les demandes de stockage sont nombreuses et se concentrent autour des métropoles

Depuis le début du re-confinement nous enregistrons 2 fois plus de demandes de stockage par rapport à la moyenne saisonnière. Ces demandes sont en général trois fois plus importantes en volume moyen de palettes et se concentrent autour des villes.


“Le marché du stockage est en ébullition depuis le début du confinement. Certains stocks se vident, d’autres se constituent, les typologies de produits évoluent. C’est surtout le cas dans nos sites à proximité des grandes villes” nous explique un de nos partenaires. Si les villes et leurs périphéries ont étés impactées négativement au début de la crise, elles sont maintenant prisées pour la constitution de stocks avancés, notamment pour l’e-commerce. En outre, l’émergence rapide du “click & collect” a permis à certains magasins de reprendre une activité proche de la normale.



L’effet Bullwhip touche les chaînes logistiques Françaises


Nous assistons à une véritable démonstration de l’effet Bullwhip sur le marché. En effet, les myriades d’ajustements locaux que nous avons mis en évidence amènent eux-mêmes à des ajustements en amont et en aval, souvent en les amplifiant. Ces ajustements sont parfois brutaux, notamment dans le secteur de l’alimentaire ou de la santé.“Les discussions récentes autour de la sortie d’un vaccin ont déjà commencé à peser sur le marché frigorifique et les investissements à venir”, relate un partenaire spécialisé dans ce secteur.

La situation sanitaire reste une préoccupation majeure pour les professionnels de la logistique. L’incertitude est de mise pour les chargeurs comme pour nos partenaires. “Les annonces du gouvernement sont toujours attendues car elles ont un impact direct sur notre activité. Des magasins ferment, d’autres sont autorisés à ouvrir et nos clients répercutent cela sur leurs capacités de stockage, parfois de façon excessive” nous explique un autre de nos partenaires en région parisienne.

Apporter de la visibilité sur un marché en réorganisation

Dans ce contexte de recomposition du marché du stockage, SpaceFill joue un rôle capital. Il s’agit ici de combattre l’opacité qui pèse sur l’ensemble des acteurs.

Nous permettons tout d’abord aux chargeurs de recomposer leurs chaînes logistiques face aux fermetures des lieux de ventes et à la mutation de leur activité. Notre service présente également un atout pour les entrepôts dont l’espace inutilisé a augmenté. Nous leur permettons de rentabiliser et de diversifier leur portefeuille de clients en répondant à un véritable besoin, car si certaines industries ralentissent, d’autres accélèrent !

La plateforme SpaceFill donne une visibilité en temps réel sur les disponibilités de stockage



En effet, selon nos chiffres des dernières semaines, le volume de demandes sur les produits alimentaires a été divisé par 5, la demande pour du stockage de meubles ou de boissons a été multipliée par 7 et 9 respectivement.

En conclusion,
les besoins de stockage restent relativement stables sur l’ensemble du marché. En aidant à faire rencontrer l’offre et la demande, SpaceFill contribue à limiter l’impact du confinement sur les chaînes d’approvisionnement.

Un re-confinement sous le signe de la solidarité

Cette fois-ci, les acteurs ont été plus prompts à mettre en place des initiatives solidaires. Parfois même, la concurrence laisse place à un esprit de solidarité tout à fait inhabituel. On remarque ainsi que les grandes entreprises multiplient les projets pour soutenir les commerçants et artisans indépendants, notamment en les aidant à passer le cap du digital.


Par exemple, Monoprix propose à des artisans locaux d’exposer leurs produits dans ses magasins en centre ville. Une fleuriste a même pu bénéficier de la vente via le click and collect du Monoprix Le Bouscat à Bordeaux.

De même, Intermarché a lancé le Drive solidaire, proposant aux commerçants indépendants de mettre en vente leurs produits sur son application pendant 6 mois. 

De manière plus humoristique, Burger King a fait sensation en appelant ses clients fidèles à commander chez son concurrent McDonald’s dans un tweet qui a fait sensation.


A notre échelle, nous voulons aider toutes les entreprises qui ont des besoins de stockage temporaire liés au confinement à trouver une solution parmi notre réseau de 3000 entrepôts. Nous avons renforcé temporairement les équipes opérationnelles pour traiter au plus vite vos demandes et vous apporter une réponse, le jour même si possible. Pour aller plus loin réalisez une demande de stockage sur notre site.

Chaque jour des milliers de palettes entrent et sortent du réseau de partenaires SpaceFill



Si vous n'avez pas eu l'occasion de lire l'article de la semaine dernière nous vous invitons à le consulter en suivant ce lien.

Trouvez de l'espace pour vos marchandises

SpaceFill vous apporte la meilleure solution de stockage à proximité de votre besoin grâce à son réseau de 3000 entrepôts logistiques.

Un problème ? une question ?
Contactez-nous directement

01 88 24 12 12
logo pasquier
logo plg
logo aoste
logo rousselot

Quel est votre besoin de stockage ?

Merci nous vous contactons dans les plus bref délais
Oops! Merci de bien remplir le formulaire

Nos ressources

Découvrez comment le numérique transforme la logistique

Trouvez de l'espace pour vos marchandises

SpaceFill vous apporte la meilleure solution de stockage à proximité de votre besoin grâce à son réseau de 3000 entrepôts logistiques.

Un problème ? une question ?
Contactez-nous directement

01 88 24 12 12
logo pasquier
logo plg
logo aoste
logo rousselot

Quel est votre besoin de stockage ?

Merci nous vous contactons dans les plus bref délais
Oops! Merci de bien remplir le formulaire