Crisis Chronicle - Logistics in the face of re-confinement #4

The health crisis is also an opportunity for the logistics sector

-

Since the beginning of the re-confinement, we have been making a weekly update on the consequences of the health crisis on the logistics market in France.

Crisis Chronicle #4 - 2020, a pivotal year for logisticians


Following the announcement by the President of the Republic of a reduction in containment as of November 28, we take stock of this episode and its impact on the logistics sector. 

In this article, you will find the conclusions of our national and weekly surveys on the storage sector among our 3,000 logistics partners. In addition, in order to give you a global view of the market, we also wanted to interview Maxime Legardez, the managing director of Everoad by sennder. sennder is the European leader in digital goods transport and is in daily contact with several thousand carriers throughout Europe.

Relive the impact of containment on the storage market

Quelques jours après l’annonce du re-confinement, l'activité tient bon

As a result of the lessons learned from the first containment and several months of preparation, most logistics providers have been able to maintain a normal level of service over the past four weeks. 


Within our network, 97% of the warehouses remained open during containment thanks to adaptation measures such as space planning or team rotation. 


This is in stark contrast to the first containment, during which many warehouses were closed and many logistics staff were put on short-time work due to a lack of adequate health measures. 

Behind the maintenance of the activity, a wide variety of situations

Reconfinement has not affected all parts of the economy in the same way. Some sectors have been able to perform well, while others have suffered a decline in activity.

Transport, catering and textiles have been the most negatively impacted by containment.

In line with what is happening more generally in the economy, some logistics service providers specialising in food or pharmaceuticals have fared better than others. To find out more, read our first re-confinement chronicle.


A boiling storage market

In a way, the storage sector is improving at the expense of the transport sector. With the closure of shops, stocks are running low and warehouses are filling up. 


The activity was mainly concentrated around large cities such as Paris, Lille and Lyon. 


The map of applications received by Spacefill during the month of November :

Map of applications received by SpaceFill in November 2020

To access detailed statistics by sector, we invite you to consult our second re-confinement column.

A Christmas like no other

Containment is bringing its share of upheavals in a particularly key period for logisticians and the economy. With some traditional distribution channels such as Christmas markets or restaurants closed, many companies are turning to e-commerce, putting great pressure on urban logistics networks. 


Compared to the first containment, we are seeing a shift in consumer preferences from home delivery to drives and relay points. To find out more about the cross-impact of Christmas and the health crisis on the storage market, see our third re-containment chronicle.

Digital at the service of performance

Beyond e-commerce, the coronavirus has put digital on the front of the stage. Indeed, new technologies allow better access to information and greater speed of execution, which are fundamental during the crisis.


SpaceFill allows for example a real time management of the flows and a centralization of all the administrative steps for the storage operations. This ensures that shippers can find space and use it in record time, which is crucial when logistics becomes more uncertain. To go further, send us a storage request. ‍

What is the impact of the crisis on the transport market?

To give you a complete picture of the logistics industry, we interviewed Maxime Legardez, General Manager of Everoad by sennder. He shares with us the lessons of the crisis on the transport sector and his vision of the post-Covid world.

Maxime Legardez, directeur général d'Everoad by sennder

Can you quickly introduce Everoad by sennder?

Everoad by sennder is the result of the merger between the French(Everoad) and the German(sennder) No. 1 in digital freight forwarding.

We help companies, from SMEs to large groups, to organise their road haulage by working with several thousand partner hauliers throughout Europe. Our clients, such as Casino, Unilever, P&G, Henkel, etc., also have access to a digital platform to manage their transport flows.

sennder est aujourd’hui présent dans 7 pays en Europe, dont la France et l’Allemagne, et nous avons récemment fait l’acquisition des activités de fret européen d'Uber pour consolider notre position de leader sur le continent.

What impact has the crisis had on Everoad / sennder's business?

At Everoad by sennder, we saw this crisis as an opportunity to help our clients in the face of an uncertain situation.

Freight transport is the backbone of the economy, so our activity did not stop during containment and it was a particularly busy time for us.

That said, our situation is privileged. The negative impact of the crisis on many of our clients and partners should not be underestimated. Some of them have been strongly affected by the crisis, or even had to cease their activity.

On the other hand, I think the logistics world gained 5-10 years with the coronavirus crisis. Traditionally uncomfortable with technology, logisticians saw the benefits that digital tools could bring in a climate of uncertainty in the market.

In this context, our technology proves to be an immense asset for shippers, it is a source of flexibility and traceability. As a result, we have not only been able to support our customers remotely, but we have also gained new ones. Conversely, traditional freight forwarders found it more difficult to adapt to the situation.

Y a-t-il des différences marquantes entre la France et l'Allemagne dans le secteur de la logistique ?

Germany is a good pupil when it comes to logistics. It has many more great champions, such as DHL or DB Schenker, than France. Germany also has many more logistics jobs than France (+30% more jobs in Germany).

From a strategic point of view, the German government has always considered logistics as a major area of differentiation, whereas in France logistics is rather perceived as an operational subject, a cost centre. Fortunately, this is changing. Over the last 2 years, we have noticed that the Directorates General have become more and more involved in discussions on transport. Exchanges no longer revolve solely around prices, but more globally on the optimization of Supply Chains. This will accelerate in the coming years.

On a sennder level, I didn't see any fundamental difference between the French and German teams. We are faced with the same problems, namely the opacity of the transport market, the fragmentation of European carriers, and the low level of digitalisation which weighs on the efficiency of working methods. Much remains to be done.

Everoad by sennder

What conclusions can be drawn from the impact of the coronavirus on transport activity?

It is still too early to talk about a balance sheet, but for us the health crisis has had a rather positive impact on the sector. We have taken a good cold shower, and this has forced all players to adapt, both in the field and at headquarters. It is said that it is in times of crisis that men are best able to question themselves and make progress. I think that's what's happening right now in the logistics sector.

Today, technology is no longer seen as a gadget but has shown that it can be a particularly useful tool for logistics professionals. Companies that started their digital transformation a few years ago are doing much better than others.


What service does Everoad / sennder provide in situations of emergency and uncertainty?

In a nutshell, we make it easier for shippers to manage their transportation at all levels.

Freight transport is already complex in normal times, it is even more so in times of crisis. Thanks to our digital platform, companies can manage their value chain from A to Z. They can plan their journeys with real-time visibility on transport capacities. They also have access to aggregated market data, as well as data on their operations (cost per line, number of delays, number of no-shows...) via a personalized dashboard.

How do you see the future of logistics in a post-Covid world?

A large part of the logistics professions will have to evolve, sometimes even disappear. For example, the chartering business will fundamentally change with the rise of matching algorithms. Repetitive and low value-added tasks will be automated, freeing up time for higher value-added tasks, such as discussions with customers or strategic thinking.

Par ailleurs, l’analyse et l’utilisation des données vont devenir de plus en plus cruciales pour mieux piloter les Supply Chains. Cette tendance va s'accélérer avec l’émergence de startups technologiques dans le secteur.

I like to see the glass half full. 2020 has been a difficult but pivotal and useful year for all logistics professionals.


To be accompanied on your logistics projects, fill in this questionnaire or call us on 01 84 80 88 82.

Find space for your goods

SpaceFill brings you the best storage solution close to your needs thanks to its network of 3000 logistic warehouses.

Problem? Question?
Contact us directly

01 88 24 12 12
pasquier logo
plg logo
postage-paid logo
ruby logo

What is your storage requirement?

Thank you. We will contact you as soon as possible.
Oops! Thank you for filling out the form

Our resources

Discover how digital is transforming logistics

Find space for your goods

SpaceFill brings you the best storage solution close to your needs thanks to its network of 3000 logistic warehouses.

Problem? Question?
Contact us directly

01 88 24 12 12
pasquier logo
plg logo
postage-paid logo
ruby logo

What is your storage requirement?

Thank you. We will contact you as soon as possible.
Oops! Thank you for filling out the form

Chronique de crise - la logistique face au re-confinement #4

La crise sanitaire est aussi une opportunité pour le secteur de la logistique

-

Depuis le début du re-confinement, nous faisons chaque semaine un point sur les conséquences de la crise sanitaire sur le marché de la logistique en France.

Chronique de crise #4 - 2020, année charnière pour les logisticiens


Suite à l’annonce par le Président de la République d’un allègement du confinement dès le 28 novembre, nous dressons le bilan de cet épisode et de son impact sur le secteur de la logistique. 

Dans cet article, vous retrouverez les conclusions de nos enquêtes nationales et  hebdomadaires sur le secteur du stockage auprès de nos 3 000 partenaires logistiques. En outre, afin de vous donner une vision globale du marché, nous avons également souhaité interviewer Maxime Legardez, le directeur général d’Everoad by sennder. sennder est le leader européen du transport de marchandises digitalisé et est en contact quotidien avec plusieurs milliers de transporteurs dans toute Europe.

Revivez l’impact du confinement sur le marché du stockage

Quelques jours après l’annonce du re-confinement, l'activité tient bon

Grâce aux leçons tirées du premier confinement et plusieurs mois de préparation, la plupart des prestataires logistiques ont pu maintenir un niveau de service normal ces quatre dernières semaines. 


Au sein de notre réseau, 97% des entrepôts sont restés ouverts pendant le confinement grâce à des mesures d’adaptation comme l’aménagement des espaces ou la rotation des équipes. 


C’est un gros contraste par rapport au premier confinement, pendant lequel de nombreux entrepôts ont fermé et de nombreux personnels logistiques ont été mis au chômage partiel faute de pouvoir mettre en place des mesures sanitaires adaptées. 

Derrière le maintien de l’activité, une grande diversité de situations

Le re-confinement n’a pas touché tous les pans de l’économie de manière similaire. Certains secteurs ont pu tirer leur épingle du jeu, tandis que d’autres ont subi une baisse d’activité.

Le transport, la restauration ou encore le textile ont été les plus impactés négativement par le confinement.

A l’image de ce qui se passe plus globalement dans l’économie, certains prestataires logistiques spécialisés dans l’alimentaire ou le pharmaceutique s’en sont sortis mieux que d’autres. Pour aller plus loin, consultez notre première chronique de re-confinement.


Un marché du stockage en ébullition

D’une certaine manière, le secteur du stockage connaît une embellie aux dépens de celui du transport. Avec la fermeture des commerces, les stocks tournent peu et les entrepôts se remplissent. 


L’activité s’est surtout concentrée autour des grandes villes telles que Paris, Lille ou encore Lyon. 


La carte des demandes reçues par Spacefill pendant le mois de novembre :

Carte des demandes reçues par SpaceFill en novembre 2020

Pour accéder à des statistiques détaillées par secteur, nous vous invitons à consulter notre deuxième chronique de re-confinement.

Un Noël pas comme les autres

Le confinement apporte son lot de bouleversements dans une période particulièrement clé pour les logisticiens comme pour l’économie. Certains canaux habituels de distribution comme les marchés de Noël ou les restaurants étant fermés, beaucoup d’entreprises se tournent vers l’e-commerce, ce qui exerce une forte pression sur les réseaux logistiques urbains. 


Par rapport au premier confinement, nous constatons un changement des préférences des consommateurs de la livraison à domicile vers les drive et les points-relais. Pour en savoir plus sur les impacts croisés de Noël et de la crise sanitaire sur le marché du stockage, consultez notre troisième chronique de re-confinement.

Le digital au service de la performance

Au-delà de l’e-commerce, le coronavirus a mis le digital sur le devant de la scène. En effet, les nouvelles technologies permettent un meilleur accès à l’information et une plus grande rapidité d’exécution, qui sont fondamentales pendant la crise.


SpaceFill permet par exemple une gestion en temps réel des flux et une centralisation de l’ensemble des démarches administratives pour les opérations de stockage. Cela garantit aux chargeurs de trouver de l’espace et de l’exploiter en un temps record, ce qui est capital quand la logistique se fait plus incertaine. Pour aller plus loin, faites-nous une demande de stockage.

Quel est l’impact de la crise sur le marché du transport ?

Pour vous livrer une image complète de l’industrie de la logistique, nous avons interviewé Maxime Legardez, directeur général d’Everoad by sennder. Il nous partage les enseignements de la crise sur le secteur du transport et sa vision du monde post-Covid.

Maxime Legardez, directeur général d'Everoad by sennder

Pouvez-vous présenter rapidement Everoad by sennder ?

Everoad by sennder est né de la fusion entre le n°1 français (Everoad) et le n°1 allemand (sennder) du freight forwarding digital.

Nous aidons les entreprises, de la PME au grand groupe, à organiser leur transport routier de marchandises en travaillant avec plusieurs milliers de transporteurs partenaires dans toute l’Europe. Nos clients, tels que Casino, Unilever, P&G, Henkel, etc., ont également accès à une plateforme digitale pour gérer leurs flux de transport.

sennder est aujourd’hui présent dans 7 pays en Europe, dont la France et l’Allemagne, et nous avons récemment fait l’acquisition des activités de fret européen d'Uber pour consolider notre position de leader sur le continent.

Quel a été l’impact de la crise sur l’activité d’Everoad / sennder ?

Chez Everoad by sennder, nous avons vécu cette crise comme une opportunité d’aider nos clients face à une situation incertaine.

Le transport de marchandises est la colonne vertébrale de l’économie, notre activité ne s’est donc pas arrêtée pendant le confinement et la période a été particulièrement chargée pour nous.

Cela dit, notre situation est privilégiée. Il ne faut pas sous-estimer l’impact négatif de la crise sur nombre de nos clients et partenaires. Certains d’entre eux ont été fortement touchés par la crise, voire ont dû cesser leur activité.

Par ailleurs, je pense que le monde de la logistique a gagné 5-10 ans avec la crise du coronavirus. Traditionnellement peu à l’aise avec la technologie, les logisticiens ont vu les bénéfices que pouvaient apporter les outils digitaux dans un climat d’incertitudes sur le marché.

Dans ce contexte, notre technologie se révèle donc un immense atout pour les expéditeurs, elle est source de flexibilité et de traçabilité. Par conséquent, nous avons non seulement pu accompagner nos clients à distance mais nous en avons aussi gagné de nouveaux. À l’inverse, les commissionnaires de transport classiques ont eu plus de mal à s’adapter à la situation.

Y a-t-il des différences marquantes entre la France et l'Allemagne dans le secteur de la logistique ?

L’Allemagne est un bon élève en matière de logistique. Elle concentre beaucoup plus de grands champions, comme DHL ou DB Schenker, que la France. L’Allemagne compte aussi beaucoup plus d’emplois logistiques que la France (+30% de postes en plus sur le territoire allemand).

D’un point de vue stratégique, le gouvernement allemand a toujours considéré la logistique comme un axe de différenciation majeur, alors qu’en France la logistique est plutôt perçue comme un sujet opérationnel, un centre de coût. Heureusement, c’est en train de changer. Depuis 2 ans, nous remarquons que les directions générales sont de plus en plus impliquées dans les discussions sur le transport. Les échanges ne tournent plus uniquement autour des prix, mais portent plus globalement sur l’optimisation des Supply Chains. Cela va s’accélérer dans les années à venir.

A l’échelle de sennder, je n’ai pas vu de différence fondamentale entre les équipes françaises et allemandes. Nous sommes confrontées aux mêmes problématiques, à savoir l’opacité du marché du transport, la fragmentation des transporteurs européens, et la faible digitalisation qui pèse sur l’efficacité des méthodes de travail. Il reste encore beaucoup à faire.

Everoad by sennder

Quel bilan tirer de l’impact du coronavirus sur l’activité du transport ?

Il est encore trop tôt pour parler de bilan, mais pour nous la crise sanitaire a eu un impact plutôt positif sur le secteur. On a pris une bonne douche froide, et cela a forcé tous les acteurs à s’adapter, à la fois sur le terrain et dans les sièges sociaux. On dit que c’est en temps de crise que les hommes arrivent le mieux à se remettre en question et à progresser. Je pense que c’est ce qui se passe en ce moment dans le secteur de la logistique.

Aujourd’hui, la technologie n’est plus perçue comme un gadget mais a montré qu’elle pouvait être un outil particulièrement utile pour les logisticiens. Les entreprises qui ont entamé leur transformation digitale il y a quelques années s’en sortent beaucoup mieux que les autres.


Quel service apporte Everoad / sennder dans les situations d’urgence et d’incertitudes ?

En une phrase, nous permettons aux expéditeurs une gestion simplifiée de leur transport à tous les niveaux.

Le transport de marchandises est déjà complexe en temps normal, il l’est encore plus en temps de crise. Grâce à notre plateforme digitale, les entreprises peuvent gérer leur chaîne de valeur de A à Z. Elles peuvent planifier leurs trajets en ayant une visibilité en temps réel sur les capacités de transport. Elles ont également accès à des données agrégées sur le marché, ainsi qu’à des données sur leurs opérations (coût par ligne, nombre de retard, nombre de no-show…) via un dashboard personnalisé.

Comment voyez-vous le futur de la logistique dans un monde post-Covid ?

Une grande partie des métiers de la logistique vont être amenés à évoluer, parfois même à disparaître. Par exemple, le métier d’affréteur va fondamentalement changer avec la montée des algorithmes de matching. Les tâches répétitives et à faible valeur ajoutée vont être automatisées, dégageant du temps pour des tâches à plus forte valeur ajoutée, comme les discussions avec les clients ou la réflexion stratégique.

Par ailleurs, l’analyse et l’utilisation des données vont devenir de plus en plus cruciales pour mieux piloter les Supply Chains. Cette tendance va s'accélérer avec l’émergence de startups technologiques dans le secteur.

J’aime voir le verre à moitié plein. 2020 a été une année difficile mais charnière et utile pour l’ensemble des professionnels de la logistique.


Pour vous faire accompagner sur vos projets logistiques, remplissez ce questionnaire ou appelez-nous au 01 84 80 88 82. 

Trouvez de l'espace pour vos marchandises

SpaceFill vous apporte la meilleure solution de stockage à proximité de votre besoin grâce à son réseau de 3000 entrepôts logistiques.

Un problème ? une question ?
Contactez-nous directement

01 88 24 12 12
logo pasquier
logo plg
logo aoste
logo rousselot

Quel est votre besoin de stockage ?

Merci nous vous contactons dans les plus bref délais
Oops! Merci de bien remplir le formulaire

Nos ressources

Découvrez comment le numérique transforme la logistique

Trouvez de l'espace pour vos marchandises

SpaceFill vous apporte la meilleure solution de stockage à proximité de votre besoin grâce à son réseau de 3000 entrepôts logistiques.

Un problème ? une question ?
Contactez-nous directement

01 88 24 12 12
logo pasquier
logo plg
logo aoste
logo rousselot

Quel est votre besoin de stockage ?

Merci nous vous contactons dans les plus bref délais
Oops! Merci de bien remplir le formulaire