Vaccine logistics - the ultimate challenge of an unprecedented year

Logistics plays a central role in managing the coronavirus crisis

-

At a time when the largest immunization campaign in history is intensifying, disparities between countries are growing. Where are they coming from? Mainly logistical problems linked to the difficulty of moving, storing and distributing a particularly sensitive product.

Vaccine logistics - the ultimate challenge of an unprecedented year


In times of crisis, "amateurs talk about strategy. Professionals talk about logistics". For American General Omar Bradley, one of the thinking minds behind the landings, nothing great can be achieved without well-oiled logistics. After a year 2020, in which logistics proved to be the backbone of an economy shaken by the coronavirus crisis, these words resonate all the more strongly in the collective imagination.

Against a backdrop of changes in distribution channels, a drastic increase in demand for some products and a collapse in sales for others, it was a busy year for logistics professionals. In the face of these challenges, logistics has not only proven its vital importance, but also its ability to adapt quickly to the ever-changing rules imposed by the crisis.

Yet the most complex logistical challenge is still ahead. It is even the basis for a return to normal life. Indeed, following the discovery in record time of several effective vaccines against the virus, logisticians are preparing to distribute them worldwide. The delivery of the vaccine presents an unprecedented challenge and could in itself determine the success of vaccination campaigns. Indeed, the vaccine may exist and be 100% effective, but if it does not reach the population in time, it will not reach its target.

In this article, find out how the industry is preparing for the largest logistics operation in decades. Why, beyond the unprecedented volume, does the vaccine present unprecedented challenges for the industry? What tools and techniques can help logisticians adapt to the new challenges posed by the vaccine?


Where are we with the vaccines?

Several vaccines have passed the final stages of testing and have been available since the end of the year. In particular, vaccines developed by Pfizer and BioNTech on the one hand, and by Moderna on the other. The vaccine developed by Sanofi, on which France had wagered, will unfortunately not be available before the end of the first half of 2021.

Pfizer-BioNTech and Moderna have applied for emergency approval from health authorities to deploy the vaccine as early as January 2020. France has already pre-booked 90 million doses that will arrive from the first quarter of 2021.

Vaccination started very quickly, on January 7, 2021, with a wide disparity between countries. While some have already vaccinated several million people, others, such as France, are lagging behind. This is mainly due to logistical issues.


Strong disparities in terms of vaccination at the beginning of January - Image credit: BFMTV



Why is this a logistical challenge?

The requirement for an extreme cold chain

Composed of messenger RNA (mRNA) fragments that degrade at room temperature, Pfizer-BioNTech and Moderna vaccines should be stored at -80°C and -20°C respectively to preserve their efficacy. A strict cold chain must therefore be followed from the time the vaccines leave the laboratory until they are administered, a process that can take several weeks and involve several hand changes. 

Although there are logistics infrastructures capable of handling this type of temperature, they are very limited in number in France and elsewhere in the world. Indeed, conventional refrigerators are at temperatures of 2°C to 8°C, and those used in professional warehouses for food preservation can only go down to -25°C. 


A commonly available solution is to work on the vaccine formulation to improve its stability at higher temperatures. Unfortunately, this requires years of work, which is clearly not an option in the current pandemic context. As a reminder, the number of confirmed cases of Covid-19 has exceeded 18 million in Europe and 62 million worldwide, with nearly one and a half million deaths.

After the development of an effective vaccine in record time, it is up to the logisticians to adapt to the technical constraints that this speed has created. Many warehouses will have to equip themselves accordingly and many will have to equip themselves with "super freezers", such as those developed by the Frenchman Froilabo.


The super-freezers developed by Froillabo :

Image credit: Philippe Desmazes / AFP

As for the carriers, they will have to procure insulated containers, such as those used by the Frenchman Olivo, as well as dry ice (solidified carbon dioxide) which will have to be added regularly to the containers to maintain their temperature.


The insulated container developed by Olivo:

Image credit: Usine Nouvelle

A historic volume to be distributed in record time

In addition to respecting the cold chain, logisticians are engaged in a race against time. As previously mentioned, the vaccine is eagerly awaited to put an end to a pandemic that has been shaking the entire planet for more than a year.

The operation is on an unprecedented scale: the aim is to deliver 10 to 15 billion doses of vaccine throughout the world. In France alone, several hundred million doses must be delivered. This is an operation that has never been attempted before, even in the context of other pandemics such as H1N1.

To ensure high-speed distribution, solutions must be found at every stage of the supply chain. For example, it will be necessary to speed up customs procedures and allow more airlines to land at regional airports to bring vaccines closer to patients.


An unprecedented mobilization of logistics players


As never before, vaccine delivery involves a wide range of institutional, economic and logistical actors. In this context, competition gives way to cooperation, as no single company can manage the volumes involved.

Logistics giants such as DHL, UPS, Fedex, or Kuehne+Nagel have been preparing for months for the arrival of the vaccines. In September, the latter announced the opening of airport logistics hubs dedicated to pharmaceuticals and healthcare, with direct access to the tarmac, in Brussels (Belgium) and Johannesburg (South Africa). The same applies to airlines, which are mobilizing despite their vulnerability due to travel restrictions. Air France KLM, for example, has set up an internal task force to draw up its action plan for distributing the vaccine. The airline has already set up temperature-controlled rooms at its Paris-Charles de Gaulle and Amsterdam-Schiphol hubs.

However, there are still many uncertainties that prevent optimal preparation, such as the date of availability of the vaccines, their place of production, or the vaccination strategy of the various countries (number of people to be vaccinated, vaccination points, etc.).

Why is this a logistical challenge?

While the mobilization of the various logistics actors is good news, the question of their coordination arises, especially in such short timeframes. The French government has set up a "vaccine task force", led by senior civil servant Louis-Charles Viossat and composed of several dozen people, to organize the logistics of the vaccine in France. The task force can therefore be expected to produce a national action plan and indications of the logistical capacities required.

But the practical aspect of this coordination remains problematic. Only real-time communication of information between all the players can ensure reliable and efficient vaccine logistics. Experts agree that the solution lies in the adoption of digital tools. In its press release on vaccine distribution, the France Supply Chain association recommends the use of digital solutions to "ensure this complex cross-functional management and its execution". Similarly, in its white paper on Supply Chain Resilience during a Pandemic, DHL advocates the use of consolidated IT tools to share information in real time in order to inform logistics decisions and ensure the traceability of medical supplies.

At SpaceFill, we believe strongly in large-scale collaboration between logisticians. This is why we are developing an online flow management platform that is easily accessible to all stakeholders. The combination of these two elements is the foundation of the logistics cloud, an approach to the Supply Chain in networks of distributed and connected logistics nodes in real time. For more information, see our white paper on the subject.

As Maxime Legardez, CEO of Everoad by Sennder, the European leader in digital freight transport, said in a recent interview, "2020 has been a difficult but pivotal and useful year for all logistics professionals".

The Covid-19 crisis has at least put logistics in the spotlight by demonstrating its central role in the economy. Now it is facing its biggest challenge in decades. Once again, we are confident in its ability to meet it.



Find space for your goods

SpaceFill brings you the best storage solution close to your needs thanks to its network of 3000 logistic warehouses.

Problem? Question?
Contact us directly

01 88 24 12 12
pasquier logo
plg logo
postage-paid logo
ruby logo

What is your storage requirement?

Thank you. We will contact you as soon as possible.
Oops! Thank you for filling out the form

Our resources

Discover how digital is transforming logistics

Find space for your goods

SpaceFill brings you the best storage solution close to your needs thanks to its network of 3000 logistic warehouses.

Problem? Question?
Contact us directly

01 88 24 12 12
pasquier logo
plg logo
postage-paid logo
ruby logo

What is your storage requirement?

Thank you. We will contact you as soon as possible.
Oops! Thank you for filling out the form

La logistique des vaccins - l'ultime défi d'une année sans précédent

La logistique joue un rôle central dans la gestion de la crise du coronavirus

-

Au moment où s’intensifie la plus grande campagne de vaccination de l’histoire, les disparités entre les pays se font de plus en plus criantes. Leur origine ? Des problématiques essentiellement logistiques liées à la difficulté de déplacer, stocker et distribuer un produit particulièrement sensible.

La logistique des vaccins - l'ultime défi d'une année sans précédent


En temps de crise, “les amateurs parlent de stratégie. Les professionnels, eux, parlent logistique”. Pour le général américain Omar Bradley, une des têtes pensantes du débarquement, rien de grand ne se fait sans une logistique bien huilée. Après une année 2020, où cette dernière s’est révélée la colonne vertébrale d’une économie bouleversée par la crise du coronavirus, ces paroles résonnent d’autant plus fortement dans l’imaginaire collectif.

Dans un contexte de modifications des canaux de distribution, d’augmentation drastique de la demande pour certains produits et d’effondrement des ventes pour d’autres, l’année a été chargée pour les logisticiens. Face à ces défis, la logistique a non seulement prouvé son importance capitale, mais aussi sa capacité à s’adapter rapidement aux règles toujours changeantes imposées par la crise. 

Pourtant, le défi logistique le plus complexe est encore à venir. C’est même sur ce dernier que repose le retour à la vie normale. En effet, suite à la découverte en un temps record de plusieurs vaccins efficaces contre le virus, les logisticiens se préparent à les distribuer dans le monde entier. L’acheminement du vaccin présente un challenge inédit et pourrait à lui seul déterminer le succès des campagnes de vaccination. En effet, le vaccin peut exister et avoir une efficacité de 100%, s’il ne parvient pas à temps à la population, il n’atteindra pas son objectif. 

Dans cet article, découvrez comment la filière se prépare à la plus grande opération logistique depuis des décennies. Pourquoi, au-delà du volume inédit, le vaccin présente des défis sans précédent pour la profession ? Quels outils et techniques peuvent aider les logisticiens à s’adapter aux nouvelles problématiques posées par le vaccin ?  


Où en est-on avec les vaccins ?

Plusieurs vaccins ont passé les dernières phases d'essai et sont disponibles depuis la fin de l’année. En particulier, les vaccins développés par Pfizer et BioNTech d’un côté, et par Moderna de l’autre. Le vaccin développé par Sanofi, sur lequel la France avait parié, ne sera malheureusement pas disponible avant la fin de premier semestre 2021.

Pfizer-BioNTech et Moderna ont demandé une approbation d’urgence aux autorités sanitaires pour déployer le vaccin dès janvier 2020. La France a déjà pré-réservé 90 millions de doses qui arriveront à partir du premier trimestre 2021.

La vaccination a très vite commencé, au 7 janvier 2021, on observe une forte disparité entre les pays. Alors que certains ont déjà vacciné plusieurs millions de personnes, d'autres, comme la France accusent un certain retard. Principalement à cause de questions logistiques.


De fortes disparités en termes de vaccination au début janvier - Crédit image : BFMTV



Pourquoi est-ce une défi logistique ?

L'exigence d'une chaîne du froid extrême

Composés de fragments d’ARN messager (ARNm) qui se dégradent à température ambiante, les vaccins de Pfizer-BioNTech et de Moderna doivent être conservés à des températures respectives de -80°C et -20°C pour préserver leur efficacité. Il faut donc respecter une chaîne du froid stricte, du moment où les vaccins sortent des laboratoires jusqu’à leur administration, un processus qui peut s’étendre sur plusieurs semaines et impliquer plusieurs changements de main. 

Or s’il existe des infrastructures logistiques capables de traiter ce type de températures, celles-ci sont en nombre très limité en France et ailleurs dans le monde. En effet, les réfrigérateurs classiques sont à des températures de 2°C à 8°C, et ceux utilisés dans les entrepôts professionnels pour la conservation des aliments ne peuvent descendre qu’à -25°C. 


Une solution habituellement disponible est de travailler sur la formule du vaccin pour en améliorer la stabilité à des températures plus élevées. Malheureusement, cela requiert des années de travail, ce qui n’est clairement pas une option dans le contexte pandémique actuel. Rappelons-le, le nombre de cas confirmés de Covid-19 a dépassé 18 millions en Europe et 62 millions dans le monde, avec près d’un million et demi de morts.

Après le développement en un temps record d’un vaccin efficace, il incombe aux logisticiens de s’adapter aux contraintes techniques que cette rapidité a engendrées. Il faut donc s’équiper en conséquence et nombre d’entrepôts vont devoir se doter de “super congélateurs”, comme ceux développés par le français Froilabo. 


Les super-congélateurs développés par Froillabo :

Crédit image : Philippe Desmazes / AFP

Quant aux transporteurs, ils vont devoir se procurer des conteneurs isothermes, comme ceux  du Français Olivo, ainsi que de la glace sèche (dioxyde de carbone solidifié) qui devra être ajoutée régulièrement aux conteneurs pour maintenir leur température. 


Le conteneur isotherme développé par Olivo :

Crédit image : Usine Nouvelle

Un volume historique à distribuer en temps record

Au-delà du respect de la chaîne du froid, les logisticiens sont engagés dans une course contre la montre. Comme évoqué précédemment, le vaccin est attendu avec impatience pour mettre fin à une pandémie qui bouleverse la planète entière depuis plus d’un an.

Or l’opération est d’une envergure inédite : il s’agit de livrer 10 à 15 milliards de doses de vaccins dans le monde entier. Rien qu’en France, il faut livrer plusieurs centaines de millions de doses. C’est une opération qui n’a jamais été tentée auparavant, même dans le cadre d’autres pandémies comme le H1N1.

Pour assurer une grande vitesse de distribution, il faut trouver des solutions à chaque étape de la chaîne d’approvisionnement. Par exemple, il sera nécessaire d’accélérer les procédures de douanes et d’autoriser plus de compagnies aériennes à se poser dans les aéroports de région pour rapprocher les vaccins des patients.


Une mobilisation inédite des acteurs logistiques


Comme jamais auparavant, l'acheminement du vaccin implique un large ensemble d’acteurs institutionnels, économiques et logistiques. Dans ce contexte, la concurrence laisse place à la coopération, car aucune entreprise ne peut à elle seule gérer les volumes en jeu.

Les géants de la logistique comme DHL, UPS, Fedex, ou Kuehne+Nagel se préparent depuis des mois à l’arrivée des vaccins. Ce dernier a annoncé en septembre l’ouverture de hubs logistiques aéroportuaires dédiés à la pharmacie et la santé, avec accès direct au tarmac, à Bruxelles (Belgique) et Johannesbourg (Afrique du Sud). De même pour les compagnies aériennes, qui se mobilisent malgré leur fragilisation par les restrictions de voyage. Air France KLM a par exemple créé une task force en interne, chargée d’élaborer son plan d’action pour distribuer le vaccin. La compagnie a d’ores et déjà mis en place des chambres à température contrôlée dans ses hubs de Paris-Charles de Gaulle et Amsterdam-Schiphol.

Cependant, il existe encore de nombreuses incertitudes qui empêchent une préparation optimale, telles que la date de disponibilité des vaccins, leur lieu de production, ou encore la stratégie de vaccination des différents pays (nombre de personnes à vacciner, points de vaccination…).

Pourquoi est-ce un défi logistique ?

Si la mobilisation des différents acteurs de la logistique est une bonne nouvelle, la question de leur coordination se pose, surtout dans des délais aussi courts. Le gouvernement français a mis en place une “task force vaccin”, pilotée par le haut fonctionnaire Louis-Charles Viossat et composée de plusieurs dizaines de personnes, pour organiser la logistique du vaccin en France. On peut donc s’attendre de la part de cette task force un plan d’action national et des indications sur les capacités logistiques nécessaires. 

Mais l’aspect pratique de cette coordination demeure problématique. Seule une communication en temps réel des informations entre l’ensemble des acteurs peut assurer une logistique des vaccins fiable et efficace. Les experts s’accordent sur le fait que la solution réside dans l’adoption des outils digitaux. Dans son communiqué de presse sur la distribution du vaccin, l’association France Supply Chain préconise l’utilisation de solutions digitales pour “assurer ce pilotage transversal complexe et son exécution”. De même, dans son livre blanc sur la résilience des Supply Chains en période de pandémie, DHL préconise l’utilisation d’outils informatiques consolidés pour partager les informations en temps réel dans le but d’éclairer les décisions logistiques et d’assurer la traçabilité des fournitures médicales.

Chez SpaceFill, nous croyons beaucoup en la collaboration à grande échelle entre les logisticiens. C’est pourquoi nous développons une plateforme en ligne de gestion des flux facilement accessible à l’ensemble des parties prenantes. La combinaison de ces deux éléments constitue les fondations du cloud logistique, une approche de la Supply Chain en réseaux de nœuds logistiques distribués et connectés en temps réel. Pour en savoir plus, consultez notre livre blanc sur le sujet.

Comme le disait, Maxime Legardez, CEO d’Everoad by Sennder, leader européen du transport de marchandises digitalisé, dans une récente interview, “2020 a été une année difficile mais charnière et utile pour l’ensemble des professionnels de la logistique”.

La crise du Covid-19 aura au moins permis de mettre la logistique sur le devant de la scène en démontrant son rôle central dans l’économie. Maintenant, elle fait face à son plus grand défi depuis des décennies. Une fois encore, nous sommes confiants sur sa capacité à le relever.



Trouvez de l'espace pour vos marchandises

SpaceFill vous apporte la meilleure solution de stockage à proximité de votre besoin grâce à son réseau de 3000 entrepôts logistiques.

Un problème ? une question ?
Contactez-nous directement

01 88 24 12 12
logo pasquier
logo plg
logo aoste
logo rousselot

Quel est votre besoin de stockage ?

Merci nous vous contactons dans les plus bref délais
Oops! Merci de bien remplir le formulaire

Nos ressources

Découvrez comment le numérique transforme la logistique

Trouvez de l'espace pour vos marchandises

SpaceFill vous apporte la meilleure solution de stockage à proximité de votre besoin grâce à son réseau de 3000 entrepôts logistiques.

Un problème ? une question ?
Contactez-nous directement

01 88 24 12 12
logo pasquier
logo plg
logo aoste
logo rousselot

Quel est votre besoin de stockage ?

Merci nous vous contactons dans les plus bref délais
Oops! Merci de bien remplir le formulaire